Recently I have had the honor of working with The Stamford Museum, prepping their fossils for an upcoming exhibit featuring the art of James Gurney (you should really check this guy out!!). Being in CT, the museum has acquired a vast collection of local fossils (Connecticut river valley, Peabody Museum specimens, etc.), and the curator has commissioned me to create murals of the animals in their collections. Right now I am working on the Triassic CT mural, which showcases a Dilophosaurus (Eubrontes giganteus), two Anomoepus (Heterodontosaurid, maybe?), a prosauropod dinosaur (presumably Ammosaurus or a close relative), Podokesaurus, and a Phytosaur. What is awesome about this project is that I get to work with fossils which were dug up ages ago. I mean some of this stuff has not been relabeled since the time of Leidy or Marsh. Crazy! Some of the stuff they have even has been written on by Leidy or Marsh!! As a self-proclaimed paleonerd that just blows my mind!! Anyways, I hope everyone had a great holiday season and I will be back with more later! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

