Time for some Geology!

Apart from the collecting I’ve done so far in Colorado (which, by the way, has turned up really nothing good), I have also gotten to witness some really interesting Rock Mountain geology. Here are a few highlights:

1. Beaver Lake

This lake, formed by glaciers and fed by snowfields, is situated above the resort town of Beaver Creek, and is home to trout and, of course, beavers, among other things. So far, my ventures have taken me to the lake twice, the first ascent more pleasant then the second, in which I was subject to two thunderstorms. Here are a couple pictures: IMG_4988

IMG_5023IMG_4997

I’ve also managed to witness some pretty beautiful sunsets and their affect on the color of the Gore range. Some peaks in the range rise to more then 13,000 feet above sea level, but all are under 14,000 feet. I managed to snap the pictures below during what became a very, very pretty evening.

IMG_5089

IMG_5082Finally, check out Cross Creek, a small waterway which, this year, rose to a point where I was scared to cross the bridge above it, lest I be washed away in the white water rapids!

IMG_4828That’s all for now, but stay tuned for more updates on the book and on the collecting trips. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

